WoW Classic Dungeons | When should you start dungeon runs

Questing in World of Warcraft Classic is the main way to level your character. However, it can feel “grindy” at times, making you want to do anything else but accepting another quest. This is where dungeons come in. Dungeons in WoW Classic allow you to switch up your leveling progression by teaming up with a group of friends to further your character’s level, and possibly get some good loot along the way. This WoW Classic Dungeons guide will briefly discuss each of the Dungeons and what level you can start them.

WoW Classic Dungeons | What are dungeons?

wow classic dungeons

Dungeons in World of Warcraft Classic are instanced areas that present you with elite boss enemies for you to defeat and more alluring loot that will really upgrade your character. They are also meant to be completed with a full party of five players as they are much more difficult than any of the standard quests you’ll come across during your time in Azeroth.

In modern World of Warcraft, you are able to teleport straight to a dungeon. In World of Warcraft Classic, that is not the case. Instead, there are meeting stones, also known as summoning stones, near the entrances of each dungeon.

ALSO: Highest level WoW Classic player suffers health scare, but keeps playing

WoW Classic Dungeons | How to summon your party

In order to successfully use the summoning stone, you need to have two players already at the dungeon’s meeting stone. One of the two players must target the player they wish to summon from their party, then click the stone to start opening the portal. When the second player clicks the created portal, the player who is being summoned will get a message to accept the summon.

If you have a Warlock in your party, there is another method for summoning your party members. Ritual of Summoning is a Warlock-specific ability that allows the magic-user to create its own meeting stone anywhere. You still need an additional two party members to execute the summon, but it is definitely useful. Warlocks get the ability at level 42, so it isn’t an option for those looking to level through some of the lower level dungeons.

WoW Classic Dungeons | List of dungeons and level requirements

wow classic dungeons

In World of Warcraft Classic, there is a total of 19 dungeons for characters to explore and loot. While all of the dungeons, which are listed below, are not restricted by any means, some of them are in more advantageous locations depending on which faction you are part of. Here is the full list of dungeons, the minimum level you should access them, and in which region they can be found in.

  • Ragefire Chasm
    • Minimum level: 10
    • Location: Orgrimmar in the Cleft of Shadows
  • Wailing Caverns
    • Minimum level: 10
    • Location: The Barrens, Southwest of the Crossroads
  • The Deadmines
    • Minimum level: 10
    • Location: Westfall, Southwest of Sentinel Hill
  • Shadowfang Keep
    • Minimum level: 14
    • Location: Silverpine Forest, North of Pyrewood Village and West of Ambermill
  • Blackfathom Deeps
    • Minimum level: 15
    • Location: Ashenvale, Northwest corner
  • The Stockade
    • Minimum level: 15
    • Location: Stormwind, in the Mage Quarter
  • Gnomeragan
    • Minimum level: 19
    • Location: Dun Morogh, North of Brewnall Village and West of Ironforge
  • Razorfen Kraul
    • Minimum level: 25
    • Location: The Barrens, way down South, next to Razorfen Downs
  • Scarlet Monastery
    • Minimum level: 21
    • Location: Tirisfal Glades, Northeast corner
  • Razorfen Downs
    • Minimum level: 35
    • Location: way down South, next to Razorfen Kraul
  • Uldaman
    • Minimum level: 30
    • Location: Badlands, North part of the map
  • Zul’Farrak
    • Minimum level: 39
    • Location: Tanaris, Northwest from Gadgetzan
  • Maraudon
    • Minimum level: 30
    • Location: Desolace, in the Valley of Spears, West of Kodo Graveyard
  • Temple of Atal’Hakkar
    • Minimum level: 45
    • Location: Swamp of Sorrows, right in the middle of the Pool of Tears, East of Stonard
  • Blackrock Depths
    • Minimum level: 48
    • Location: Searing Gorge, at Blackrock Mountain in the South part of the map
  • Lower Blackrock Spire
    • Minimum level: 48
    • Location: Searing Gorge, at Blackrock Mountain in the South part of the map
  • Upper Blackrock Spire
    • Minimum level: 48
    • Location: Searing Gorge, at Blackrock Mountain in the South part of the map
  • Dire Maul
    • Minimum level: 48
    • Location: Feralas, in the middle of the region, north of the High Wilderness
  • Scholomance
    • Minimum level: 48
    • Location: Western Plaguelands, in Caer Darrow, southeast corner of the map

While all the locations are available for any faction to use, some of them are deep in certain faction’s territory. For example, Ragefire Chasm, which is a low-level dungeon, is located in Orgrimmar, one of the main cities for the Horde faction. If you are an Alliance player, you probably don’t want to go sneaking around in Orgrimmar to do a low-level dungeon.

This can also be said about The Stockade, a dungeon located in Stormwind, an Alliance hub city. While this is a higher level dungeon than Ragefire Chasm, as a Horde player, you probably don’t want to drop into Stormwind for the same reasons stated above.

Additionally, the minimum level listed is not necessarily the recommended level you should take on these dungeons. More likely than not, you will have a rough time getting through some of them if you enter them at the minimum levels listed. For example, Deadmines, which is listed with a minimum level of 10, is typically done around level 18. Dungeons are much more difficult this time around, especially with no one really around to carry a party as everyone is currently leveling characters.

To get the most out of each of these dungeons, you will have to do some questing. As you complete quests, you may come across quests specific to one of the 19 dungeons. Most of these quests can be completed by simply finishing the dungeon which will garner you even more experience.