Box art - Rust

Rust Forced Wipes | What time do the servers wipe?

Finding out that Rust forcibly wipes out player progress on a regular basis can be a little intimidating at first. Performing a force wipe helps Fecepunch Studios to keep things running smoothly both behind the scenes and in-game, however. Still, knowing when to expect a server refresh can help players to prepare and avoid potentially wasting their time. Here’s the need-to-know on the Rust forced wipes schedule, including the usual reset time and day.

Rust Forced Wipes | When do the servers reset?

Rust forced wipes

Rust has been around for a number of years now, but only recently did it really take off thanks to being prominently featured on Twitch. A lot of new players discovering the survival game is a good thing, no doubt, though many of them are in for a shock. The development team at Facepunch Studios performs a regular force wipe on all of the game’s servers; this deletes all player-made buildings, structures, and objects across the entire map.

Rust force wipe time and day

  • 11 AM PT
  • 2 PM ET
  • 7 PM GMT
  • 8 PM CET
  • 4 AM AEDT (Friday)

Forced Rust wipes take place at 2 pm EST/7 pm GMT on the first Thursday of every month. Additional force wipes are possible — in the event of an issue or a large update, for example — though uncommon.

Force wipes in Rust are universal and affect all servers. Playing on a private server can result in encountering more frequent wipes dictated by the host, however. Some large servers elect to perform a local wipe as frequently as every week.

The next Rust force wipe is right around the corner, hitting today, Thursday, January 7, at 2 pm EST/7 pm GMT. The following forced server wipe in Rust should take place on Thursday, February 4 at the same time.

For more Rust beginners’ guides, check out how to get stone and cloth for crafting. There are also some tips on avoiding stutter, lag, and crashes in the PC game right here.