Frosty Fest Event Coming To Splatoon 2 In January

Splatoon 2 is gearing up for the holiday season. The Frosty Fest event set for January will make things just a little bit more seasonal with a new wintry theme.

The special in-game global event turns Inkopolis Square into what is being described as a winter wonderland. Stages will have more of a winter theme to them, and Octolings will be able to use new glitter-filled ink during battle.

The Splatfest question is also holiday-related. It asks “Who do you get most excited to spend the holidays with?” with the choices being either with family or with friends.

Additionally, new gear items will be distributed by the Squid Research Lab Report News Channel in Splatoon 2. New Year’s Glasses DX, Twisty Headband, Festive Party Cone and Eel-Cake Hat will be available in late December prior to the event.

The most recent Splatfest took place on the weekend of November 17. That asked what was better: salsa or guacamole? The vote wasn’t that close, with salsa beating guacamole handily.

Splatoon 2 has had massive success since launching on July 21st of 2017. By September of this year, the game has sold 7.47 million copies, something only a few select Switch titles can boast.

Upon its release, Splatoon 2 was was given favorable reviews, including a 4 out of 5 from Game Revolution’s Brittany Vincent. She wrote: “Splatoon 2 is a measured dose of the same game you likely remember from the Wii U, a colorfully-inked tour-de-force of multiplayer action with a single-player afterthought. You’ll want to clock hours and hours in-game for sure, but you’ll be left scratching your head at some of the strange decisions Nintendo made this time around. Luckily, there’s still plenty of fun to be had here, even if you can’t decide if you’re a kid or a squid.”

The Frosty Fest Splatfest event starts on Friday, January 4 at 2 PM Pacific/5 PM Eastern/10 PM GMT. It will run for 48 hours.

Source: Splatoonus on Tumblr