eBay sales tax goes into effect for 13 states today

Today, eBay announced that it would be charging sales tax in 13 new states, starting today. The eBay sales tax announcement comes after loopholes are being closed which allowed eBay users to order their items tax free. However, now that those workarounds are getting cleaned up, users are going to have to pay a little extra next time they want to buy a Zelda collectible. So, which states are being effected by the eBay sales tax?

eBay Sales Tax | What states charge sales tax on eBay?

eBay sales tax

If you’re a frequent eBay buyer, then you’re probably wondering which states will have to pay sales tax on the service. Furthermore, you’re probably wondering if your state will begin charging sales tax on eBay purchases. Below, you’ll find a list of the 13 newest states to be effected by the eBay sales tax policy. There are currently eight states (and the District of Columbia) that already charge sales tax on items. This will bring the total to 21 states that charge sales tax on eBay.

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

If you don’t see your state on the list, then you can consider yourself safe for now. eBay will be adding five new states to the list on October 1: California, North Dakota, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah. It is safe to assume that even more states will be added to the list as legislation begins to change and loopholes are closed.

So, if you regularly shop on eBay for the hottest deals, you’ll have to be a bit more aware in the future. While the sales tax won’t add a lot to the final bill, it is still more money at the end of the day that you will have to pay. If your state doesn’t currently have eBay sales tax, enjoy it while it last, because you could be next.