Red Dead Online and GTA Online servers shutting down today to honor George Floyd

Rockstar Games will be shutting down GTA Online servers and Red Dead Online servers today in honor of George Floyd, a man who was recently killed in an alleged act of police brutality. If you’re hoping to play Red Dead Redemption 2 multiplayer or GTA 5 multiplayer today, you’re going to be stuck without it for a little while.

The announcement was made by Rockstar Games earlier today on its Twitter account with plans to close down the servers for a period of two hours.

ALSO: The PS5 event delay is the right move in a wrong world

“Black Lives Matter,” began the tweet from Rockstar Games. “To honor the legacy of George Floyd, today, 6/4/20, from 2:00-4:00 p.m. ET, we will be shutting down access to our online games, Grand Theft Auto Online and Red Dead Online.”

“Following the memorial, we hope you will join us in further honoring the many victims of America’s racial injustices by supporting their families, black-owned businesses, those marching on the streets, and coalitions through the organizations listed here[,]” a follow-up tweet explained. That second tweet contained a link to organizations with a focus on civil rights that have a high rank on Charity Navigator, a website that tracks the accountability and efficiency of 501(c)3 charities in the United States.

Red Dead Online servers GTA Online servers shutting down George Floyd Rockstar Games

When will the GTA Online servers be shut down?

  • June 4, 2020, 11:00 AM–1:00 PM PDT (Pacific Time)
  • June 4, 2020, 2:00 PM–4:00 PM EDT (Eastern Time)
  • June 4, 2020, 7:00 PM–9:00 PM BST (British Time)

When will the Red Dead Online servers be shut down?

  • June 4, 2020, 11:00 AM–1:00 PM PDT (Pacific Time)
  • June 4, 2020, 2:00 PM–4:00 PM EDT (Eastern Time)
  • June 4, 2020, 7:00 PM–9:00 PM BST (British Time)

While the temporary closure of the GTA Online servers might come as a surprise, Rockstar Games is not the only company to make an effort in support of protestors following the death of George Floyd. Most recently, popular YouTube personality PewDiePie announced a fundraising livestream for victims of police violence. GameRevolution has also listed a number of charities that you can consider supporting in light of the recent events in America.