Black Ops Cold War world premiere debuts at Gamescom this week

The Call of Duty: Black Ops – Cold War world premiere will be arriving later this week as part of Gamescom Opening Night Live, a yearly gaming show that highlights some of the most hotly-anticipated entertainment coming to the gaming world.

Late last week, the original Call of Duty: Black Ops – Cold War announcement indicated that something would be happening in Verdansk on August 26, 2020, leading some people to speculate that we would see some kind of in-game announcement in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. There’s still an air of mystery around this announcement, but we do know that we’ll be getting a first look just one day later thanks to an announcement from Geoff Keighley.

When is the Call of Duty: Black Ops – Cold War world premiere?

  • August 27, 2020, at 11:00 AM PDT (Pacific Time)
  • August 27, 2020, at 2:00 PM EDT (Eastern Time)
  • August 27, 2020, at 7:00 PM BST (British Time)
  • August 27, 2020, at 8:00 PM CEST (Central European Time)

Call of Duty: Black Ops - Cold War world premiere propaganda

 

Not much is known about this new Call of Duty game thus far. Rumors had been flying around for the last several months indicating that it would be a reboot of Call of Duty: Black Ops set in Vietnam during the Cold War. Speculation got even more intense when even more Cold War rumors were released thanks to an upcoming Doritos promotion, of all things.

While we’re still not quite sure about the game taking place in Vietnam, last week’s announcement has confirmed that the Black Ops franchise will be exploring a Cold War setting. Many questions are still unanswered — will this continue the Black Ops story or will this be a soft reboot akin to 2019’s Call of Duty: Modern Warfare? Will we see the return of classic characters from the franchise?

Either way, we’ll soon find out for sure: you can watch the Call of Duty; Black Ops – Cold War world premiere as part of Gamescom’s Opening Night Live show on August 27, 2020. In the meantime, you may want to make sure your game is up to date for the day before — something interesting will probably be happening in-game on Verdansk and you won’t want to miss it.