Box art - Fortnite

Fortnite Matchmaking Disabled: How Long is it Down for Maintenance?

Fortnite Battle Royale players are being greeted by an unfortunate Fortnite matchmaking disabled error today, with players unable to log into the popular game ahead of the release of its 2.4.2 update.

If you’re struggling to get into the game, then here’s what you need to know about how long the servers will be down, and when you can finally start playing the game again.

 

Are Fortnite Servers Down Today?

fortnite matchmaking disabled

Fortnite servers on the PS4, Xbox One, and PC versions of the game are unfortunately down today. This is a result of the game’s V2.4.2 update, which will feature some bug fixes, general changes, and the introduction of a new crossbow ahead of the Valentine’s Day event.

If you’re trying to access the game, you’ll be greeted with an error message informing you that the Fortnite servers have been temporarily disabled.

How Long will Fortnite Servers Be Down?

Fortnite matchmaking disabled

The official Fortnite Twitter account confirmed the downtime, tweeting: “Ready to feel the love? Downtime for Patch V.2.4.2 will begin on February 8 at 4:50AM ET(0950 GMT). Matchmaking for Battle Royale will be disabled at 4:25AM ET(0925 GMT).”

Unfortunately, Epic Games has yet to confirm when the Fortnite servers will officially go back online, with them working hard to get players “back out there as soon as we can!”

The new additions included in the V2.4.2 update include a new batch of skins and a crossbow that fires arrows, an unlimited ammo type. This crossbow comes in both Rare and Epic variants.

When the servers are brought back online, or Epic Games offers more information regarding their status, we’ll update this story as appropriate. In the meantime, players will just have to sit tight and hope that they won’t be left waiting for much longer.