Box art - Fortnite

Fortnite Birthday Cake Back Bling: How Do I Get The First Birthday Item?

Normally when someone’s birthday rolls around it’s us giving them presents. Epic, though, has insisted on doling out the gifts for their first anniversary, including a slice of exclusives. Undoubtedly, the headline act for next week’s landmark occasion on July 24 is the Fortnite Birthday Cake Back Bling. Here’s how to make sure you’ll be first in line for the new birthday item.

What is the Fortnite Birthday Cake Back Bling?

Celebrating Fortnite‘s first anniversary (yes, it really has been a year already!), Epic is releasing a new emote, a new spray and, of course, the Fortnite Birthday Cake Back Bling. Each one is birthday-themed and can, presumably, only be obtained for a very limited time.

It’s the latest in a long line of exclusive back blings that have come to the game recently, such as the True North Twitch Prime back bling, and the PSN-only Blue Shift.

However,  unlike other exclusives, many players will have access to the Fortnite Birthday Cake Back Bling as it’s so darn easy to unlock across all platforms.

How Do I Get The Fortnite Birthday Cake Back Bling?

To get the Fortnite Birthday Cake Back Bling you’ll need to complete all three birthday challenges. Most of those are nice and simple, thankfully. Observe:

  • Deal 1,000 damage to opponents to unlock the Fortnite Birthday! Emoticon
  • Dance at different birthday cakes to unlock the Happy Birthday! Spray
  • Play 14 matches to unlock 5,000 XP.
  • Complete all 3 challenges to earn the Birthday Cake Back Bling

The 1,000 damage and 14 matches challenges will, admittedly, require a fair bit of grinding but can be done over time. As of yet, we don’t know where the birthday cakes will land but, knowing Epic, you can bet that Tilted Towers is bound to have one. Keep an eye out for those come Tuesday.

Expect the birthday update to go live on Tuesday, July 24 at 7 a.m. PDT/10 a.m. EDT/3 p.m. BST.