Box art - Call of Duty: Black Ops 4

When is the Black Ops 4 Winter Double XP Weekend Event?

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 continues to hold its own corner of the gaming market despite other titles being released ahead of the year’s end. To celebrate the upcoming holiday season, a Black Ops 4 winter double XP weekend event is due to take place. So when is the Black Ops 4 winter double XP weekend event going to happen?

What is the Black Ops 4 Winter Double XP Weekend Event?

Every so often, the developer of the latest Black Ops game holds special weekend events where they offer players the chance to earn double the amount of XP that they’d usually earn.

This is a way to get players to return to the title, and try and lure newcomers to the franchise, in an effort to get Black Ops 4’s player base back up to where they were right after launch day. Competition is fierce in the games market, especially around the holiday season, so anything Treyarch can do to get gamers to play their title is a welcome boost for them.

Players can earn double XP in multiplayer and Zombies modes, and this helps you to level up faster, unlock new weapons, skins, and other cosmetic items for your character. Now’s as good a time as any to jump back in, and rack up all those lovely double XP points.

When is the Black Ops 4 Winter Double XP Weekend Event Taking Place?

The Black Ops 4 winter double XP weekend event will begin on Friday, December 14 at 10 AM PT (6 PM GMT and 1 PM EST). It will run from Friday until Monday, December 17, and comes as the latest patch for Black Ops 4 – the 1.09 update – has landed in gamers’ laps.

To find out what is part of this update, including bug fixes, new game modes, and more, check out our guide on the Black Ops 4 1.09 update here.